FR | EN

 

 SCIENCE ON BOARD

Photo credits : oceaneye - manta trawl and microplastic samples

The passive igloo - a sailboat dedicated to science

The passive igloo offers accomodation to master students, doctoral students and researchers motivated by an interest and passion towards research in the Arctic regions, whether sailing in the summer during escorts or during Arctic winters during which the vessel is stationary in the ice.

Several scientific partners are enroled : Météo-France, Oceaneye, University of Brest, University Savoie Mont Blanc, INRA and University of Geneva. Topics of study cover weather, climate, biodiversity and pollution of the oceans. The passive igloo is also involved in Isaaffik, a new gateway connecting Arctic research, education, consultancy and logistics.


Scientific agenda 2015/16

The passive igloo participates in different scientific collaborations. This page is intended to serve as a platform for information on planned or ongoing activities. For more information, please get in touch.

Météo-France

In order to improve the quantity and quality of atmospheric data collected from across the globe, scientists seek to maximize the number of measurements, especially at sea. These data include improving weather forecasts and safety at sea.


Deployment of SVP drifeter buoys, Nanuq Greenland 2015 (photos Alain Berthoud)

"SVP drifter data buoys" collect and transmit data via satellite:

  • atmospheric pressure
  • the temperature of the sea surface
  • speed and direction of surface currents
  • the CTG waves
  • and wind speed

The goal is to deploy additional drifting weather buoys on different areas during the trip. In parallel, the boat will be equipped with an integrated weather station that will provide a complete data set at each full hour via Iridium SBD. These data can be viewed in near real time.


Chart : air pressure observations over the sea surface in November 2013, red dots = drifting buoys, source EUMETNET

Web : http://www.eumetnet.eu

 

Oceaneye


Carte : modèle de prédiction numérique de concentration de débris plastiques flottants. Source: Maximenko et al. (2012)

Five huge waste zones about the size of a country float on the ocean surface. They are called the seventh continents or waste patches, accumulation areas. They are mainly composed of small plastic debris from fragmentation of waste. The cause of their existence is human pollution that is transported by ocean currents. This phenomena is now no longer a hypothesis but a scientific certainty.

The objective is to determine the quantity of plastic contained in the sea water along the voyage.

Web : http://www.oceaneye.eu

 

University of Brest


Niskin bottle and work in progress on board, Nanuq Greenland 2015 (photos Sylvie Margot)

a) Diversity of microorganisms:

The structure, function and biodiversity of Arctic marine ecosystems are influenced by several key factors and are very well adapted to the extreme conditions of their environment. However, impacts of climate change on Arctic ecosystems are expected to be very strong and more rapid than any other biome on earth. As phytoplankton is the basis of many food webs, it is absolutely crucial to study their spatial distribution and diversity. Moreover, there are concerns that the nature of algae blooms in the Arctic could be modified, especially due to the sea- ice retreat, or ocean acidification. It is proposed to investigate phytoplanktonic diversity by sampling regularly along the cruise line, with an emphasis around the coast of Greenland.

b) Macronutrients (nitrates, phosphates and silicates)

In the Arctic, important shifts in nutrient availability took place in recent years. As a result, significant changes in primary production of Arctic Ocean waters occurred. As complementary measurements to microorganisms diversity, nutrient distribution will be investigated along Nanuq voyage, with a focus on total dissolved inorganic nitrogen, phosphorus and silicon.

c) Trace Elements

Phytoplankton growth requires carbon, light and macronutrients). In addition, trace elements play a key role : some are essential for living organisms (e.g Fe, Mn , Cu, Ni , Zn , Co), while others are toxic (eg Pb and Hg). The structure, function and biodiversity of marine Arctic ecosystems may be affected by any bioavailability variation of these trace elements. Their distribution is tightly linked to the variation of their inputs, such as sea-ice or melting glaciers.

The goal is to quantify some trace elements (total dissolved mercury and particulate Fe, Mn, Al) in different areas along the voyage, with an emphasis around Greenland

Web : http://www-iuem.univ-brest.fr

 

University Savoie Mont-Blanc

Laboratoire Chimie Moléculaire et Environnement (LCME)


S etup of passive absorbers (water - left; air - right), Nanuq Iceland 2015 (photos Alain Berthoud)

a) PCBs in water

b) PCBs and PAHs in air

Web : http://www.lcme.univ-savoie.fr

 

University of Geneva

The measurements we propose to conduct intended to analyze the different components of the solar radiation balance, thermal infrared, heat flux through the ice, and the fluxes of sensible and latent heat at the interface between the surface and the lower layers of the atmosphere.

The instruments used are:

  • a radiometer covering the solar spectrum and thermal infrared radiation
  • one (or two) solarimeter(s) for the radiation part
  • a flux-meter for the heat flow in the surface
  • a sonic anemometer
  • thermometer and hydrometer for turbulent atmospheric flows

Purpose:

  • Analyze local heat transfer in a polar environment
  • Establish a heat balance of each of the fluxes to better understand the polar climate on the ice; also, if possible, improve the calculation of turbulent flow patterns.

Web : http://www.unige.ch

 

The passive igloo project

The 'passive igloo' is the cabin of a 60' polar expedition sailboat. The design is inspired by concepts and techniques used in low-energy high performance buildings.

The aim is to pass through an arctic winter in a self-sufficient way and without the use of non-renewable energy in order to explore how simple and robust constructive and technical solutions may to challenge low-cost energy scarcity in a credible way. Transposed to temperate climates, the experience feedback will be useful to outline the habitat of tomorrow.


The real passive igloo - end of winter, Nanuq Greenland 2016 (photo Peter Gallinelli)

Measured variables:

  • indoor air temperature: living area (floor, ambient, ceiling), cabins, buffer zone
  • inner and outer surface temperatures and heat flux trough the thermal envelope of the igloo
  • indoor air quality : relative humidity and CO2 levels
  • air change rate
  • energy produced, consumed
  • occupancy rate, activities
  • external environment: temperature, relative humidity, solar radiation, wind speed

Scientific purpose : to observe and describe the comfort/energy ratio, document comfort and hygrothermal operation and establish a detailed energy balance.

Web (internal links) :


Your project interests us - our project interests you

Welcome on board! Designed and built to cope with the most difficult navigation and climate conditions, the boat offers a place to live and work for a crew of 6 in complete self-sufficiency for up to 2 years.

Summer

During the arctic summer and during the travel from Europe to the winter camp and back, samples will be taken and measurements be carried out. The route will be adapted to specific needs.

 

Winter

During the long lasting winter months, the boat serves as a stationary base-camp, moored in a sheltered place in the northern arctic Canada. During that period, monitoring of atmosphere, ocean water and sea ice, as well as on land and glaciers, will be carried out.

Using wind for propulsion, but also to provide energy for life on board especially during long stays in cold climates, the passive igloo is a means of transport and a place to live and work with low environmental impact. It lends itself ideally as a base camp for observation and environmental monitoring projects in the most remote and inaccessible areas.

Practical

Agenda 2015-2016...

The permanent crew consists of two experienced sailors who handle navigation, boat and global logistics. The extra carrying capacity is 8 (10) people in summer, 4 (6) in winter.

In addition to the crew and common equipent, the boat can carry a payload of 1-2 metric tons of scientific equipment for a volume of several cubic meters. Depending on requirements, the large multi-purpose cabin can be converted into an extra laboratory. A large rear deck at the water's edge with attached garage greatly facilitates the implementation of ocean measurement equipment. Electric power is available to operate scientific equipment. Due to the use of renewable and clean energy, the immediate environment remains completely clean and unpolluted which is an important feature for environmental monitoring.

Equipment

Basic amenities are available such as: sleds, kayaks, dinghy. Divers also can be arranged for on request. Drill and ice saws facilitate access to water under the ice. Repatriation of of samples is possible every 15 days, during stopovers. In addition, a monitoring system and a weather station are available board. Routine measurements include:

  • temperature and relative humidity of air
  • surface water temperature
  • solar radiation (horizontal, global)
  • wind speed and direction (sonic anemometer)

The aim is to provide useful data for analysis of energy performance of the passive igloo. This is an integral part of the project (read more...). These data are also useful in the context of EUMETSAT and for the documentation of sampling conditions in different collaborations.

All data are georeferenced (GPS). A datalogger (CR1000) is used for the acquisition, processing and storage. The programming of the station (measurement protocol) can be adapted to the application. A drone is scheduled for aerial photography and airborne measurements (contact us).

Scientific coordinator

Frédéric Gillet : contact...


Arctic Gateway: Isaaffik

Isaaffik is a new web platform and gateway connecting Arctic research, education, consultancy and logistics. The 'passive igloo' is proud to be associated with arctic research by offering logistics opportunities to international research teams.

Web : http://www.isaaffik.org


 

 

frédéric gillet & peter.gallinelli June 2016

FR | EN

 

 SCIENCE A BORD

Ffilet manta et prélèvements de microplastiques (crédits photos: oceaneye)

Le passive igloo - un voilier voué à la science

Le passive igloo se propose comme support logistique, camp de base et laboratoire flottant à des étudiants en master, doctorants et chercheurs motivés par un intérêt pour la recherche dans les régions arctiques, que ce soit en navigation lors des convoyages ou durant l'hiver pendant lequel le bateau est stationnaire, pris dans la glace.

D'ores et déjà, différents partenaires sont embarqués: Météo-France, Oceaneye, Université de Brest, Université Savoie Mont-Blanc, INRA et Université de Genève. Les sujets d'étude couvrent la météo, la climatologie, la biodiversité et la pollution des océans. Le passive igloo participe également à Isaaffik, une nouvelle plateforme de rencontre de la recherche arctique.


Programme scientifique 2015/16

Le 'passive igloo' contribue dans différentes collaborations scientifiques. Cette page a pour but de servir de plateforme d'information sur les activités planifiées ou en cours. Pour de plus amples informations, n'hésitez pas à nous contacter.

Météo-France

Afin d'améliorer la quantité et la qualité des données atmosphériques recueillies à l'échelle du globe terrestre, les scientifiques cherchent à maximiser le nombre de mesures, en particulier en mer. Ces données permettent notamment d'améliorer les prévisions météorologiques et la sécurité marine.


Déploiement de bouée météo, Nanuq Groenland 2015 (photos Alain Berthoud)

Les "SVP drifter data buoys" permettent de mesurer et de transmettre par satellite:

  • la pression atmosphérique
  • la température de la mer en surface
  • la vitesse et direction des courants en surface
  • les caratéristiques des vagues
  • et la vitesse du vent

L'objectif est de disposer plusieurs "Data buoys" (bouées météo dérivantes) sur différentes zones déterminées du parcours. En parallèle, le bateau sera équipé d'une station météo embarquée qui fournira un jeu de données complet à chaque heure pleine via Iridium SBD. Ces données pourront étre suivies en temps quasi-réel.


Chart : air pressure observations over the sea surface in November 2013, red dots = drifting buoys, source EUMETNET

Site web : http://www.eumetnet.eu

 

Oceaneye


Carte : modèle de prédiction numérique de concentration de débris plastiques flottants. Source: Maximenko et al. (2012)

Cinq poubelles géantes de la taille d'un pays flottent à la surface des océans. Elles s'appellent les septièmes continents, les 'waste patches' ou encore les zones d'accumulation de déchets. Elles sont principalement composées de petites particules de plastiques issues de la fragmentation des déchets. La cause de leur existence est la pollution des hommes transportée par les courants marins. Ce phénomène n'est aujourd'hui plus une hypothèse, mais bien une certitude scientifique.

L'objectif est de doser le taux de plastique contenu dans l'eau de mer sur le parcours.

Site web : http://www.oceaneye.eu

 

Université de Brest


Prélèvements d'eau de mer, Nanuq Groenland 2015 (photos Sylvie Margot)

a) Diversité du phytoplancton

La biodiversité des écosystèmes arctiques marins sont influencés par différents facteurs et sont parfaitement adaptés aux conditions extrêmes. L'impact prévisible du changement climatique sur les écosystèmes arctiques est considéré comme fort par les spécialistes.

Le phytoplancton étant situé à la base de la chaine alimentaire marine, l'étude de sa diversité et de sa distribution est fondamentale. Une modification de cette diversité est attendue, notamment en raison du retrait des glaciers et de l'acidification des océans.

Les investigations vont consister à l'étude de la diversité du phytoplancton, par la prise d'échantillon tout au long du trajet du bateau passif.

b) Nitrate, Phosphate, Silicate

Depuis quelques années, des modifications importantes de la quantité de phosphate, nitrate et silicate ont été observées dans les mers arctiques, couplées avec des changement significatifs au niveau de la production des océans. En complément de l'étude de la diversité du phytoplancton, la quantification des nutriments sera étudiée tout au long du trajet du bateau passif.

c) Elements traces

La croissance du phytoplancton est directement reliée à la présence de carbone, lumière et macronutriments. Par ailleurs, les éléments trace jouent un rôle clé : certains sont essentiels pour la vie des micro-organismes (Fe, Mn, Cu, Ni, Zn, Co) alors que d'autres sont toxiques (Pb, Hg).

La biodiversité marine de l'écosystème arctique est ainsi reliée à la présence et à la quantité des éléments traces, la présence de ces éléments étant liés aux icebergs et à l'eau fondue des glaciers.

Les investigations vont consister à quantifier les éléments trace (Mg, Fe, Mn, Al) sur le trajet du bateau passif.

Site web : http://www-iuem.univ-brest.fr

 

Université Savoie Mont-Blanc

Laboratoire Chimie Moléculaire et Environnement (LCME)

Au moyen de capteurs passifs, les polychlorobiphényles (PCB) seront échantillonnés dans l'atmosphère et dans l'océan pour le compte du LCME de l'université Savoie Mont-Blanc. Le dosage au laboratoire de ces molécules dans les capteurs passifs permettra de déterminer les concentrations de PCB gazeux dans l'air et de PCB dissous dans l'eau puis de calculer les flux de PCB à l'interface air-eau.


Mise en place de capteurs passifs: à gauche eau, à droite air - Nanuq Islande 2015 (photos Alain Berthoud)

Ces calculs serviront à préciser le rôle de l'océan vis à vis de ces micropolluants organiques persistants : source ou puits de PCB atmosphériques. La comparaison aux données acquises antérieurement par d'autres équipes de scientifiques des concentrations mesurées dans l'air arctique renseignera enfin sur la dynamique atmosphérique de ces polluants dans le contexte actuel de changement climatique.

a) PCB dans l'eau

b) PCB et HAP dans l'air

Site web : http://www.lcme.univ-savoie.fr

 

Université de Genève

Les mesures que nous proposons d'effectuer visent à analyser les différentes composantes du bilan radiatif solaire, de l'infrarouge thermique, du flux de chaleur à travers la glace, ainsi que les flux de chaleur sensible et latente à l'interface entre la surface et les basses couches de l'atmosphère.

Les instruments employés sont:

  • un radiomètre couvrant le spectre solaire et infrarouge thermique
  • un (ou deux) solarimètre(s) pour la partie rayonnement
  • un flux mètre pour le flux de chaleur sous la surface
  • un anémomètre sonique
  • un thermomètre et un hydromètre pour les flux atmosphériques turbulents

Utilité: analyser les transferts de chaleur locaux dans un environnement polaire

But: établir des bilans de chacun des flux pour mieux comprendre le climat polaire sur la banquise; aussi, améliorer si possible les schémas de calculs des flux turbulents.

Site web : http://www.unige.ch

 

Le passive igloo project

Dessiné et construit en s'inspirant et en optimisant des concepts et techniques des bâtiment à hautes performances énergétiques, le 'passive igloo' est l'habitacle d'un voilier d'expédition polaire de 60 pieds.

L'objectif consiste à traverser un hiver arctique en autarcie et sans recours à des énergies non renouvelables afin de vérifier jusqu'où des choix constructifs et techniques judicieux, simples et robustes constituent une réponse au défi de la raréfaction de l'énergie facile / fossile. Transposé aux climats tempérés, le retour d'expérience sera utile pour tracer les contours de l'habitat de demain.


Le véritable passive igloo - fin de l'hiver, Nanuq Groenland 2016 (photo Peter Gallinelli)

Grandeurs mesurées:

  • température de l'air intérieur : zone séjour (sol, milieu, plafond), cabines, zone tampon
  • températures de surface intérieure et extérieure et flux de chaleur par l'enveloppe thermique de l'igloo
  • qualité de l'air intérieur : humidité relative et taux de CO2
  • débit de renouvellement d'air
  • énergie produite, consommée
  • taux d'occupation, activités
  • environnement extérieur : température, humidité relative, rayonnement solaire, vitesse du vent

But scientifique : observer et qualifier le ratio confort/énergie, documenter le confort et le fonctionnement hygrothermique et établir un bilan énergétique détaillé.

Site web (liens internes) :


Votre projet nous intéresse - notre projet vous intéresse

Bienvenue à bord! Conçu et construit pour s'accomoder de conditions de navigation et climatiques difficiles, le voilier est doté d'un espace de vie et de travail pour un équipage de 6 personnes en autarcie complète pour des périodes allant jusqu'à 2 ans.

Eté

Durant les convoyages d'Europe vers le lieu d'hivernage et le retour, diverses mesures et prélèvements seront effectuées, La route est adaptée selon les besoins particulièrs.

 

Hiver

Durant les longs mois d'hiver, le bateau sera stationnaire, basé sur son mouillage en haute latitude du Nord Groenlandais et servira de camp de base pour des campagnes de mesures atmosphériques, en lien avec la glace de mer et l'océan, mais aussi terrestres et glaciaires.

En utilisant la force du vent pour sa propulsion, mais aussi pour fournir le complément d'énergie pour la vie à bord lors de longs séjours spécialement par grand froid, le passive igloo est un moyen de transport et un lieu de vie et de travail à faible impact environnemental et se prête à ce titre idéalement à l'accueil de projets d'observation et de monitorages environnementaux dans les régions reculées et difficilement accessibles.

Pratique

Agenda 2015-2016...

Un équipage permanent expérimenté gère la navigation, le bateau et la logistique globale. La capacité d'accueil supplémentaire est de 8(10) personnes en été, de 4(6) en hiver.

En plus de l'équipage et de l'avitaillement de base, le bateau peut embarquer une charge utile de 1-2 tonnes de matériel scientifique pour un volume de plusieurs mètres cubes. Selon les besoins, la grande cabine multifonctionnelle peut être aménagée en laboratoire d'appoint. Un grand pont à l'arrière au ras de l'eau avec garage attenant sert à la mise en oeuvre de matériels de mesures océaniques. Une alimentation électrique autonome permet de faire fonctionner des équipements scientifiques. Grâce au recours à des énergies renouvelables et propres, l'environnement immédiat reste parfaitement libre de pollution.

Moyens embarqués

Des équipements de base sont à disposition : traineaux, kayaks, annexe. Sur demande des plongeurs équipés peuvent être organisés. Perceuse et scies à glace facilitent l'accès à l'eau sous la banquise. Un rapatriement des prélèvements et des relevés est possible tous les 15 jours, lors des escales. Outre un système de monitorage et d'acquisition performant, une station météo est installée à bord. Elle mesure:

  • la température et l'humidité relative de l'air
  • la température de l'eau
  • le rayonnement solaire
  • la force et la direction du vent

L'objectif est de disposer de données utiles pour l'analyse du fonctionnement énergétique de l'iglou passif. Ce volet fait partie intégrante du projet, (lire...). Ces données sont également utiles dans le contexte d'EUMETSAT et la documentation des conditions de prélèvement dans différentes collaborations.

Les données sont géoréférencées (GPS). Un datalogger (CR1000) est utilisé pour l'acquisition ainsi que le traitement et le stockage. La programmation de la station (protocole de mesures) peut être adaptée à la demande. Un drone est prévu pour le prise de vue aérienne ainsi que la prise de mesures aéroportée (nous contacter).

Coordination scientifique

Frédéric Gillet : contacter...


Portail Arctique : Isaaffik

Isaaffik est une nouvelle plateforme et portail Internet pour connecter recherche, enseignement, expertise et logistique arctique. Le 'passive igloo' est fier d'avoir été invité à participer à cet effort et avoir été associé à la recherche en arctique en offrant un support logistique aux équipes intéressées.

Site web : http://www.isaaffik.org


 

 

frédéric gillet & peter.gallinelli juin 2016