FR | EN

 

 TAKING PART

Costs

Funding of each leg is provided by the participants. In other words, the contributions to costs must cover the actual costs incurred. Are covered: participation to the costs of operating the boat, maintenance and repair costs, insurance, nautical documents, provision- depreciation and amortization of property belonging to the association (safety equipment, dinghy).

The costs of the legs will be 120 CHF per day per person. Children up to 15 years inclusive receive a 50% discount, students up to 25 years inclusive a 25% discount. Crew members who do more than one leg in a season get a 20% discount on every additional leg. For reservation of a specific berth (e.g. double cabin) add 15 CHF/day.

The same costs apply to all crew members, boat owners and skipper included. These are real costs. The club does not make any profit. Given that the club must break even, the cost of the travel can only be known accurately at the end of the season when the final price of the trip can be computed and adjustments made.

To this price, one has to add the travel to reach the boat and to return home (see here below) plus expenses for food, drinks, harbour fees - together around ~15 CHF per day. Dining out, land activities, shopping, and the costs of individual communication are not supported by the association.

The down payment for reservation of a leg is 600 CHF, and 200 CHF for each additional leg. The advance is used by àCAPela to buy charts and other collective equipments needed for the expedition. The balance is payable one month before boarding.


Getting there

The Faroe Islands are accessible by plane, starting from 300 CHF one way.

Iceland is accessible by plane, starting from 400 CHF one way.

For Greenland, best connections are with Air Greenland starting from Copenhaguen or Air Iceland via Reykjavik. Costs range from 500 CHF to 1200 CHF one way depending on destination.

Labrador / Quebec : Air Labrador...


Carbon footprint

If flying creates a conflict of conscience, there are ways to compensate for the carbon footprint such as myclimate.org


Formalities

  1. If you've not already done, please get in touch : contact
  2. Anyone directly or indirectly participating in the activities that are organized by the Association shall be a member of the Association. This is the time to become a member of the Association.
    To apply for membership: fill out, sign and send the application form, see link below.
  3. To make reservation for one or more legs : send the application form to the secretariat and make the subscription fee payment available to the Association (CHF 600.- + 200.- per additional leg).
    This amount is deducted from the participation fee.
  4. To take part : send the form for participation and make payment of the balance of the participation fee no later than two weeks prior to boarding.
    Prepare your marine-mountain-adventure duffle bag: see the equipment list below.
  5. Report to the port of embarkation in the morning before noon local time on the day of boarding.

The application forms may be found by following this link : download forms 2017 (f)


Personal equipment list

... or how to prepare you luggage :-)

It is highly recommended to travel with a duffel bag: it should be of reasonably size (about 60-90 liters) and SOFT, allowing easy cohabitation and storage (eg, a frameless rucksack or Base Camp Duffel from North Face, M or L size are good choices). A bag with wheels is NOT convenient. Reasonable weight is 20kg, supplemented by a small backpack 'hand luggage' (10-15 liters).

the JanSport duffel bag

In terms of conditions, you may expect a climate comparable to the Alps between 1500m to 3500m above sea level. The weather can be mild (> 15°C and sunshine), but there can also be fog, wind, rain and snow (last legs). Also, there is a big difference between walking in the cold or standing still at the helm for hours.

On land, the crew is moving under its own responsibility. If a walk is no problem, exiting ascents (most recommended) are possible. You must organize the necessary equipment depending on the purpose and itinerary: ropes, crampons, ice axes, belaying, shoes, food, autonomy. A tent, two mattresses and cooker are available on board.

Check list:

Head protection
1x Hat (covering ears/wind-stopper tech)
1x Balaclava (autumn)
1x Mask (winter option)
1x Winter hat (winter)

Hand protection
1x Windstopper gloves
1x Heavy winter mitts (-40°C)
1x Polypropylene glove liners (winter option)

Foot protection
1x Hiking shoes
1x Sailing boots (navigation)
1x Sandals / Crocs (summer)
1x Warm slipper (winter)
1x Winter boots (Sorel type -40°C)
1x Gaiters (winter)

(black soles are not to be used on board)

Socks
4x Thin socks (synthetic)
2x Thick warm socks (synthetic)

Jackets
1x All weather sailing jacket (navigation)
1x Thin Windstopper jacket
1x Mountain jacket
1x Outdoor down suit - pants + jacket (winter -40°C)

Pants
1x All weather sailing pant (navigation)
1x Polyvalent mountain pants (stretch)
1x Overtrouser Gore-Tex

Clothes
2x Pullover polar fleece
4x T-Shirt
2x Thermal shirts with long sleeves
2x Bottom Underwear (long)
4x Underwear
1x Bath suit

Other equipment
Sleeping Bag (summer comfort 5°C, winter comfort -10C)
Sleeping bag liner, fleece (option)
Pillow liner (40cm x 60cm)
Headlamp
Travel watch
Knife (e.g. swiss army knife)
Sunglasses
Backpack
Small food bag or box (used to store dried fruit, ...)

Body care
2 x Travel towel (1x big + 1x small)
Lavette
Skin cream (cold)
Sunscreen
Toothpaste
Toothbrush
Soap / shampoo
Personal Meds

Travel documents
As required (passport, visa, ...)
Credit card (VISA, Mastercard)

Options
Waterproof bag (camera, phone, passport, …)
Thermos bottle
Compass / personal GPS / land maps (required for hiking)
Smart shirt to go out
Favourite music
Reading (reasonable)
Notebook
Camera

... but keep it simple and light ! (25kg)

Important
Do not forget to bring a piece of tasty cheese, cold cuts, wine, spirits, treats, home made marmelade, ... according to your tastes :-)

Welcome on board!


Conditions

  • As a crew member you are involved in a team project. As such each crew member actively takes part in the project and participates in a positive and constructive manner. Although the skipper will try to meet any reasonable request, the decision of the skipper will be final at all times and on all matters. You must adhere to instructions issued to you by the skipper.
  • Sailing can be a dangerous activity and requires an average level of fitness and good health. It is your responsibility to ensure that you obtain proper and detailed medical advice before application (check with the skipper if necessary).
  • An insurance that covers, in the area being visited, accidents, health, and transport back home (e.g. REGA, CAF, TCS ...) is recommended. In case of a medical problem arising during the voyage, either onboard or on shore, which results in medical expense including but not limited to costs for evacuation with use of aircraft and repatriation, the payment of these costs belongs solely to the individual concerned.
  • Should you commit an illegal act or interfere with the wellbeing of the crew or other passengers through disruptive or difficult behavior, the skipper has full authority to dismiss you from the yacht. In such an event you will have no recourse to any refund or compensation, including costs for you and for repatriation.
  • The Association and the skipper make every reasonable effort to respect the calendar, but remains subject to weather, sea and ice conditions, damage or illness and may prompt a change in programme. Members must take this into account when planning their travel to and from the boat. Neither the association nor the skipper can be held responsible and the payment of any additional costs belongs solely to the individual concerned.
  • The down payment is reimbursed only if there is no place left for you on the boat, or if àCAPela rejects your membership application.
  • Should you for one reason or other not be able to take part in a leg for which you have already payed, then you may propose a replacement of your choice, who will need to be approved by àCAPela. Alternatively, you may ask to take part in a different leg, should there be places available.
  • Should the travel be cancelled, then an extraordinary general meeting will be called which will decide on the reimbursement of the members.
  • Land-based activities take place under the sole responsibility of the land-team members.

 

* * *

 

acapela - February 2017

FR | EN

 

 MONTER A BORD

Coût

Le financement des étapes est assuré par les participants, en d'autres mots: les participations doivent couvrir les frais réels engagés. Doivent être couverts: une participation aux frais du bateau, frais d'entretien et de réparation, amarrage, assurance, documentation nautique, amortissement de matériels appartenant à l'association (matériel de sécurité, annexe).

Les montants des participations seront de 120 CHF par jouret par personne, y-compris pour le skipper et les propriétaires du bateau. Les enfants et jeunes jusqu'à 15 ans inclus bénéficient d'une réduction de 50%, les étudiants jusqu'à 25 ans inclus d'un rabais de 25%. Le cumul d'étapes donne lieu à un rabais de 20% cumulable sur chaque étape supplémentaire. Il s'agit de coûts réels; l'association ne fait aucun profit. Ne prévoyant aucune marge, un réajustement peut être effectué en fin de saison quand les dépenses et le nombre d'équipiers réels pourront être comptabilisés. Pour la réservation d'un couchette particulière (p.ex. en cabine double), ajouter 15 CHF/jour.

A ce budget, il faut ajouter le voyage aller-retour aux lieux d'embarquement et de débarquement ainsi qu'une caisse de bord (nourriture, boissons, frais de port éventuels). Compter ~15 CHF par jour. Les sorties restaurant, activités terrestres, shopping, ainsi que les frais de communication individuels n'entrent pas dans le cadre de l'association.

La réservation pour une étape prévoit un acompte de 600 CHF et de 200 CHF pour chaque étape supplémentaire. Ces montants sont nécessaires pour la préparation du voyage. Le solde est à payer un mois avant l'embarquement.


Y aller

Les îles Féroé sont accessibles en avion, compter à partir de 300 CHF aller ou retour simple.

L'Islande est accessible en avion, compter à partir de 400 CHF aller ou retour simple.

Pour le Groenland, la liaison en avion se fait avec Air Greenland en partant de Copenhaguen ou Air Iceland via Reykjavik. Compter 500 à 1200 CHF aller ou retour simple selon la destination.

Empreinte CO2

Si voyager en voilier peut être assimilé à un moyen de transport écologique, il n'en va pas de même pour les voyages aller/retour en avion!

N'oubiez pas qu'il existe des moyens de compenser l'empreinte carbone liée aux vols, p.ex myclimate.org


Formalités

  1. Préalablement, si ce n'est déjà fait, entrez en contact.
  2. Toute personne souscrivant et participant directement ou indirectement aux activités proposées et organisées par l'Association, doit être membre de l'Association. C’est donc le moment de devenir membre de l’Association.
    Pour demander l’adhésion : renseignement, signature et envoi du formulaire de demande d’adhésion, voir lien ci-dessous.
  3. Pour réserver une ou plusieurs étapes : envoi du formulaire de souscription au secrétariat et versement de l'acompte de souscription sur le compte de l'Association (CHF 600.- + 200.- par étape supplémentaire).
    Ce montant se déduit des frais de participation.
  4. Pour partir : envoi du formulaire d’engagement de participation et règlement du solde des frais de participation au plus tard 2 semaines avant l'embarquement.
    Préparer son sac de marin-montagnard-aventurier : voir la liste d'équipement ci-dessous.
  5. Se présenter au port d’embarquement le matin avant midi heure locale le jour de l’embarquement.

Inscription : télécharger les formulaires 2017


Liste d'équipement personnel

... ou comment préparer ses bagages :-)

L'équipier voyage avec son sac de marin: celui-ci est de taille raisonnable (env. 60-90 litres) et SOUPLE (!), permettant une cohabitation aisée et son rangement (p.ex. un sac de montagne sans cadre ou un Base Camp Duffel chez North Face, taille M ou L sont de bons choix). Un modèle à roulettes ne convient pas. Le poids raisonnable est de 20kg, complété par un petit sac à dos en 'bagage à mains' (10-15 litres).

le sac de voyage JanSport

En termes de conditions, il faut s'attendre à un climat comparable à celui des Alpes entre 1500m à 3500m d'altitude. Le temps peut être doux (>15°C), mais il peut y avoir de la brume, du vent, la pluie, voire la neige (dernières étapes). Aussi, il y a une grande différence entre marcher sous la pluie ou rester immobile au poste de barre durant des heures.

A terre, tout le monde évolue sous sa seule responsabilité. Si une promenade ne pose aucune difficulté, une ascension excitante (fort recommandée) est possible. L'équipement nécessaire doit être prévu en fonction de l'objectif et de l'itinéraire : cordes, crampons, piolets, assurage, chaussures, nourriture, autonomie. Une tente, deux matelas et réchauds sont disponibles à bord.

Checkliste (à imprimer):

Protection de la tête
1x Bonnet (couvrant les oreilles/wind stopper)
1x Cagoule (automne / hiver)
1x Masque (option hiver)
1x Bonnet grand froid (hiver)

Protection des mains
1x Gants Windstopper
1x Moufles d'hiver (-40°C)
1x Sous-gants en polypropylène (option hiver)

Protection des pieds
1x Chaussure rando / trek
1x Bottes à voile (navigation)
1x Sandales / Crocs (été)
1x Chaussons fourrés (hiver)
1x Bottes hiver (type Sorel -40°C)
1x Guêtres (hiver)

(les semelles noires ne devront pas être utilisées à bord)

Chaussettes
4x Chaussettes fines (synthétique)
2x Chaussettes chaudes (synthétique)

Vestes
1x Veste de quart cirée (bavigation)
1x Jaquette Windstopper fine
1x Veste de montagne
1x Ensemble veste-pantalon duvet (hiver -40°C)

Pantalons
1x Pantalon ciré (navigation)
1x Pantalon de montagne polyvalent (stretch)
1x Surpantalon Gore-Tex

Habits
2x Pull polaire ou molletonné
4x T-shirt
2x Dessous polaire à manches longues
2x Collant polaire
4x Sous-vêtements
1x Maillot de bains

Autres équipements
Sac de couchage (été confort 5°C, hiver confort -10°C)
Sac à viande en polaire légère (option)
Taie d'oreiller (40cm x 60cm)
Lampe frontale
Montre de voyage
Couteau (suisse)
Lunettes de soleil
Sac à dos
Petite boite ou sac à nourriture (pour les en-cas)

Hygiène
2 x Linge de voyage (1x grand + 1x petit)
Lavette
Soin peau
Crème solaire
Brosse à dents
Dentifrice
Savon / shampooing
Médicaments personnels

Documents de voyage
Selon besoins
Carte bancaire (VISA, Mastercard)

Options
Sac étanche (caméra, papiers, téléphone, ...)
Bouteille thermos
Boussole / GPS de trek / cartes terrestres (nécessaire pour marche)
Belle chemise pour sortir
Musique préférée
Lecture (raisonnable)
Carnet de croquis
Appareil photo

... mais restez simple et léger ! (25kg)

Important
N'oubliez pas d'apporter un bout de fromage, charcuterie, vin, alcool, gâterie, confiture maison, ... selon vos préférences :-)

Bienvenue à bord !


Conditions particulières

  • En qualité d'équipier vous vous engagez dans un projet d'équipe. A ce titre chaque membre d'équipage est parti prenant du projet et y participe activement dans un esprit positif et constructeur. Le skipper essayera de prendre en compte tout désir raisonnable. Cependant, à tout moment la décision du skipper sera finale sur toutes les questions. Vous devez vous conformer aux instructions qui vous sont données par le skipper.
  • La voile peut être une activité dangereuse et nécessite un forme physique moyenne et d'être en bonne santé. Il est de votre responsabilité de vous en assurer et le cas échéant d'obtenir des conseils médicaux appropriés avant de postuler (vérifiez avec le skipper si nécessaire).
  • Une assurance individuelle de voyage, accident, rapatriement, SAR, compatible avec l’itinéraire prévu est exigée (p.ex. REGA, CAF, TCS...). En cas de problème médical survenant pendant le voyage, que ce soit à bord ou à terre, et qui entraîne des frais médicaux, y compris mais sans s'y limiter les coûts d'évacuation avec l'utilisation des aéronefs et le rapatriement, la couverture de ces frais appartient exclusivement à la personne concernée.
  • Si un équipier commet un acte illégal ou interfère avec le bien-être de l'équipage ou des autres équipiers en adoptant un comportement perturbateur ou difficile, le skipper a pleine autorité pour le débarquer sans dédommagement ni remboursement, y-compris les coûts accessoires et de rapatriement.
  • L’Association et le skipper mettent en œuvre tous leurs moyens pour respecter le calendrier des étapes. Cependant, les conditions météorologiques, de mer et de glace, une avarie, un cas de maladie ou accident peuvent occasionner des retards ou changements de programme et les participants doivent tenir compte de cette éventualité et des conséquences possibles (réservations des vols). Ni l'association, ni le skipper peuvent être tenus pour responsables et les coûts supplémentaires éventuels sont exclusivement à la charge de la personne concernée.
  • Le montant de l'acompte est acquis par l'Association pour l'organisation et pour la préparation du voyage. Le montant ne peut pas être remboursé sauf dans le cas de manque de place ou du refus d'une candidature.
  • Dans l'impossibilité d'embarquer pour l'étape(s) prévue(s), le souscripteur peut désigner un remplaçant accepté par l'association ou, dans la limite des possibilités, faire un échange d'étape.
  • En cas d'abandon total du voyage décidé en assemblée extraordinaire de l’Association, l’Association procédera dans la mesure du possible, et au prorata des montants versés, à la restitution des montants de souscription et de participation.
  • Les activités terrestres se font sous la seule responsabilité des équipiers à terre.

* * *

 

 

acapela - mai 2017